5 Loaves for 5,000

When Jesus heard that John the Baptist had been beheaded at Herod’s birthday party, He withdrew by boat to a solitary place. He looked up and saw a large crowd following Him. He had compassion on the people and healed their sick. As evening approached, the disciples asked Him to send the crowd away so they could go to the surrounding villages and buy food for themselves. Jesus said, “They do not need to go away. You give them something to eat” (Matthew 14:16). A boy offered them his lunch of five barley loaves and two fish, but how far would this go? Jesus said, “Bring them here to me,” and He directed the people to sit down on the grass. He took the loaves and fish, looked up to heaven, gave thanks and broke the loaves. The disciples distributed the food to the people, and all ate and were satisfied–about 5,000 men (not counting women and children).

THINK ABOUT IT

It seemed like Jesus asked the disciples to do the impossible when He said, “You give them something to eat.” Yet, He participated in serving the people. God intervenes in times when we feel inadequate to do what we think is impossible. We will never do great things if we limit ourselves, but if we trust God, He will help us do more than we can imagine.

PRAY ABOUT IT

O Lord help us to carry out your will and plan in our lives, even when we think the task is impossible. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Published by

Sue Loeffler

Author of more than two hundred articles, devotions and stories, my book, A CLOSER WALK WITH GOD, is a compilation of devotions from my visit to Israel. The Bible came alive to me, and I discovered I was not only walking where Jesus and the prophets walked; I was walking closer with God. I have taught Sunday school more than twenty years, mentored young women and volunteered as a hospital chaplain. Today I lead Women's Bible studies in my home, and I write a blog at A Closer Walk With God-Devotions from a Journey Through the Holy Lands. Visit often and/or subscribe/follow.

Leave a comment